Why are cats afraid of cucumbers?

They are not typically. The cat memes featuring cats being scared about cucumbers are due to the fact that they are placed on the floor, close to the cat when they are not looking, and it is thought that when they do see it, their first instinct is to think it is a snake, and will react accordingly