How many pieces of paper does it take to stop a bullet?

There are too many variables to answer that definitively. Thickness of the sheets, size and weight of the bullet, grain (gunpowder) load of the shell, distance from muzzle to the stack of pages, and a few others. Also, it is possible the bullet shape (pointy or round) has some effect.