How do you speak droid?

Droids understand many languages, but according to wookieepedia and the Galactic Phrase Book & Travel Guide, droids speak Binary or Droidspeak. However, there is no apparent relation between the Binary of Star Wars and the numeral system with that name in the real world of modern computers.