What's the difference between lox and smoked salmon?

Lox and smoked salmon are both cured and brined, but lox does not undergo the smoking process that smoked salmon receives. It is also worth noting that lox is cured or brined with salt, whereas other varieties, like gravlax, add sugar and herbs like dill to the mix.