How do you repair tools in minecraft?

In minecraft, weapons and tools can be repaired by using an anvil or a grindstone. A player may repair items by combining two of the same item. For example, if you want to repair an enchanted diamond pickaxe, use the anvil to combine it with a new, never used diamond pickaxe.