What is mellotone?

"Mellotone" is a brand of fabric speaker grill covers. Similar sounding "mellowtone" means to speak in a mellow voice. Or maybe you are referring to "Melatonin" which is a hormone connected to the time of day, and you produce more when it is dark, which plays a role in sleep.