Is it normal for dogs to have hiccups?

Like humans, dogs get hiccups. This is not unusual and is often caused by eating or drinking too quickly, eating fewer larger meals, or other sources of stomach irritation. If frequent hiccups persist, it could be a sign of something more serious, and a veterinarian should be consulted.