How long does cream cheese take to soften?

Since cream cheese has such a high fat content, it doesn't take long to come to room temperature if the room is relatively warm. It takes about 30 minutes on the counter to soften, and about an hour to fully come to room temperature (again, depending on the temperature outside and in your kitchen).