How do you know if a steak is medium rare?

If you touch your thumb to your index finger and feel the muscle at the base of the thumb this is what a rare steak will feel like if you poke it. Now touch your pinkie to your thumb and the muscle will feel like a well done steak. Medium rare is middle finger.