How long do you hard boil?

To hard boil an egg, boil the egg in a pot of water for 5 to 7 minutes. Shorter than 5 minutes will not guarantee a hard boiled egg. A way to test to see if it is hard-boiled is to spin it on one of the pointed ends on a countertop. If it wobbles or falls flat, it is still partially soft-boiled.

---

A hardboiled egg should be cooked at a rolling boil for exactly 10 minutes in salted water. Afterwards, immediately cool the eggs in cold running water. If you follow these steps, your egg yolks will be bright yellow, with no hint of green. The hardboiled eggs will also be easy to peel.