How long do you hard boil?

To hard boil an egg, boil the egg in a pot of water for 5 to 7 minutes. Shorter than 5 minutes will not guarantee a hard boiled egg. A way to test to see if it is hard-boiled is to spin it on one of the pointed ends on a countertop. If it wobbles or falls flat, it is still partially soft-boiled.