What do condoms do?

Condoms are a "barrier" method of contraception. They are made of very thin latex (rubber), polyurethane or polyisoprene and are designed to prevent pregnancy by stopping sperm from meeting an egg. They can also protect against STIs if used correctly during vaginal, anal and oral sex.