Are pickles made of cucumbers?

Some pickles are made with cucumbers. There are a variety of types of pickled cucumbers available in most grocery stores. However, anything can be pickled and you can also enjoy Pickled Beets, Pickled Beans, Pickled corn, Pickled Onions, Pickled fish, just to name a few.