Is it octopuses or octopi?

Both octopuses and octopi are listed as correct pluralizations for octopus. The reason that the word causes confusion is that it is not straight from Latin but was a Greek word that was translated into Latin, then translated into English. Pluralizing gets confusing with all of the translations.