How do you get mega energy in pokemon go?

If you plan to Mega Evolve a Pokemon, you'll need to gather Mega Energy, which can be earned several ways: Defeating a Mega Evolved Pokemon in a Mega Raid Battle Completing research tasks Walking with Buddy Pokemon after Mega Evolving a Pokemon in your Buddy Pokemon's evolutionary family