Is soy sauce fermented?

Yes, Soy sauce is an increasingly popular oriental fermented condiment produced through a two-step fermentation process called koji (solid-state fermentation) and moromi (brine fermentation). Complex microbial interactions play an essential role in its flavor development during the fermentation.