What makes something vegan?

It excludes meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other animal-derived ingredients. Foods that are processed using animal products are excludes as well.

---

To be vegan, a food or material has to be free from all animal-derived products, including those which may be obtained without harm to the animal. Therefore, non-vegan products include honey, wool, and milk.