How long does it take to heat up oil?

Set your burner on medium and let your pan of oil heat for around 5 to 10 minutes. Put the meat thermometer in the center of the oil to check the temperature. The oil should be between 350 degrees Fahrenheit (177 Celsius) and 400 F (205 C), depending on what you're cooking.