Is there such thing as hackers?

Yes, while there can be a negative or criminal connotation to the term, "hacker", as someone who uses computers and technology to gain unauthorized access to information, like the movie Hackers or TV series Mr. Robot, the term also applies to people who adapt components into something innovative.