Where are monarch butterflies born?

Monarch butterflies are found in North America (primarily Southern Canada, the US and Mexico). They lay eggs on the undersides of milkweed plants where they hatch into caterpillars that feed on the milkweed before developing a chrysalis and emerging as butterflies.