When was decaf coffee invented?

The first commercial decaffeination process was invented in 1900 by Ludwig Roselius, who founded the German company Kaffee Hag. By 1912 he was marketing a decaffeinated coffee in Europe called Sanka, a name derived from the French ''sans caffeine.