What is a compound noun?

Compound nouns are sometimes one word, like toothpaste, haircut, or bedroom. These are often referred to as closed or solid compound nouns. Sometimes compound nouns are connected with a hyphen dry-cleaning, daughter-in-law, and well-being For example.