Tell me about shannon?

Shannon is the Anglicised version of an Irish name meaning old river or wise river, due to its association with the River Shannon, Ireland's longest river. The Irish spelling of the name, s-i-o-n-a, i-n-n, alludes to the goddess Sionna whose name, in Irish mythology, means possessor of wisdom.