How high upper satellites?

According to aerospace.csis.org, most Earth-orbiting satellites that aren't of the low or medium-orbital altitudes do so at about 36,000 kilometers, maintaining what's called a geosynchronous orbit. At this altitude, the satellites orbital period matches that of Earth's rotational period.