What is a dutch oven used for?

The classic "Dutch Oven" is used as a stove-top or fire-heated cooking pot that provides surface heat on the bottom as well as radiant heat from the sides, to act effectively as a small oven for roasting in addition to being an all-purpose cooking pot.