What is the difference between a green olive and a black olive?

The color of an olive (green or black) is based on when an olive is picked and preserved. Green olives are unripe, while black olives (you guessed it) are ripened before being harvested. Let's not forget about preserving methods, because that also plays a small part in these two colors.

---

Black olives are sweeter then green olives