Can you compost shrimp shells?

Shrimp shells contain bacteria that help them decompose, and they are made largely of chitin, which forms the exoskeleton and contains large amounts of nitrogen. ... You can eliminate the odor of decomposing shrimp by boiling, drying and crushing the shells before adding them to the compost