How was shawn mendes discovered?

Mendes began posting clips on Vine last year from his home in Canada, starting with a cover of Justin Bieber's "As Long as You Love Me." His manager, Andrew Gertler, discovered the singer after searching YouTube for covers of A Great Big World's "Say Something."