Is it bad if a cat's nose is dry?

Not necessarily, cats just like dogs can have a dry nose several times a day, it can be attributed to environmental changes like laying in the sun or beside a heat source. Look for other conditions such as damaged skin and/or a runny nose, if they are persistent you should consult a vet.