What does a three alarm fire mean?

Multiple-alarm fires are categories classifying the seriousness of fires. A common misconception is that a "three-alarm fire", means that three firehouses responded to the fire. In New York a three alarm fire requires 12 engine companies, 7 ladder companies, 6 battalion chief unit, and so on...