What is the difference between scotch and whiskey?

Scotch is a type of whiskey that is made exclusively in Scotland. Whiskey is a spirit distilled from a combination of grains like barley, wheat, rye, and corn. Scotch is traditionally made using only water and malted barley. Drying the barley over a peat fire gives scotch a distinctive character.