Is olive oil the same as vegetable oil?

Use olive oil when you want its flavor in a dish and for moderate-heat cooking. Choose a vegetable oil when you want a cleaner flavor and for high-heat cooking. If you find yourself out of the oil called for in a recipe, we've found these oils can be used interchangeably the majority of the time.