Why is fire hot?

Fire is a chemical reaction that releases energy. The released energy can be in the form of photons (massless subatomic particles like light) in the infrared part of the spectrum - they are not visible, but they feel warm. Fire also creates small molecules that travel very fast, carrying energy.