Why are money trees called money trees?

The name “Money Tree” is a common nickname for a few different varieties of plants. They are supposed to bring good luck to the owners. According to Bloom-scape, the name and folklore date back to only 40 years ago in the 1980s. They are called Money Trees because it makes people want them.