When was peanut butter invented?

In 1884 Marcellus Gilmore Edson of Canada patented peanut paste, the finished product from milling roasted peanuts between two heated surfaces. In 1895 Dr. John Harvey Kellogg of Kellogg's cereal patented a process for creating peanut butter from raw peanuts.