What language do people speak?

People speak between 5,000 and 7,000 different languages. The most widely spoken languages in millions of speakers are English 1132, Mandarin Chinese 1117, Hindi 615, Spanish 534, French 280, Standard Arabic 274, Bengali 265, Russian 258, Portuguese 234, Indonesian 199.