What is osteoarthriti?

Osteoarthritis is the most common type of arthritis and can affect any joint but more likely weight bearing joints. It is a progressive disease of the whole joint that leads to breakdown of joint cartilage and the underlying bone. When it affects the spine, it is known as spondylosis.