How do you tame an ali in minecraft?

Although the Minecraft Allay can't be tamed, once freed, the Allay will begin following the player. You can provide the Allay with an item, not by dropping it but by using/placing the item whilst looking at the Allay. The Allay will then receive and hold the item/block,