What happened in china nineteen eighty nine?

in 1989, political protests rose out of increasing corruption and influence of freedoms from the west as China had begun to allow foreign business into the country. As frustrations rose, protesters gathered at Tiananmen Square, Beijing. Reports vary on the count lives lost from 200-10,000 people.