What's the abbreviation for for example?

The usual abbreviation used for the phrase "for example" is e-g, with a period after each letter and no space in between. It stands for the Latin phrase "exempli gratia," which literally translates to, "for the sake of example." However, some recent writers have taken to using the simpler E-x.