What was the plague in seventeen twenty?

The 1720 Great Plague of Marseilles was the last general outbreak of bubonic plague in Europe. Out of a population of 90,000 city residents an estimated 50,000 died. A further 50,000 died in the surrounding area before aggressive quarantine measures were put into place to stop the disease spreading.