Why are grapes dangerous to dogs?

Currently, it is not known why grapes are toxic to dogs. Some speculate the toxicity may be due to a mycotoxin or a salicylate drug that may be naturally found in the grape, resulting in decreased blood flow to the kidneys. More recently, tartaric acid has been suspected as the cause.