How do you cook dates?

The best way to use dates in a recipe is to boil clean water and out your potted dates in a heat resistant bowl. Pour the boiling water over the dates and let sit for minimum 10 minutes while they soak and get soft. You can also use some of the water that has been flavoured by the dates.