What is cultured butter?

Normal butter is made by churning regular cream. This separates the solid milk fats from the liquids and creates solid butter. Cultured butter is similar, but uses cream that had bacterial cultures added. These cultures consume the lactose and produce lactic acid, creating a butter with added tang.