What does a local mean?

adjective... belonging or relating to a particular area or neighborhood, typically exclusively so.. noun... an inhabitant of a particular area or neighborhood.. further examples: "i want to shop local, because i like to support the people around here".. "i am a local, i have lived here all my life"