Where is dora from?

Nickelodeon wanted Dora to be an ambiguous Latina character, so that kids from all Latin backgrounds could see themselves in her -- so Dora's last name is Marquez, and she is from a fictional city. Her last name comes from acclaimed Latinx writer Gabriel García Márquez.