Where did the saying elbow grease come from?

Back in the day, elbow grease was exploited for practical jokes. An unfortunate young worker would be sent out to purchase the “elbow grease” for polishing furniture. The poor apprentice would walk from shop to shop until he either caught on to the joke … or gave up looking.