Where does sonic dot e. x. e. live?

In the DIC cartoons and Archie comics, he lives in Mobius. In Sonic the Movie, he lives in planet Freedom. In Sonic X, he lives in a parallel version of our Earth. However in the main canon which is in the games by Sonic Team, he lives in a fantasy, cartoony version of Earth.