When was grass created?

Grass became widespread about 145 to 66 million years ago, during the Cretaceous period. Fossilized dinosaur dung (coprolites) have been found containing a variety of grasses related to modern rice and bamboo. Grasses include some of the most versatile and widespread plant life-forms.