What's a staff in music?

In Western musical notation, the staff or stave is a set of five horizontal lines and four spaces that each represent a different musical pitch or in the case of a percussion staff, different percussion instruments.

---

The stave (or staff) is the foundation upon which notes are drawn. The modern staff comprises five lines and four spaces. The modern stave comprises five lines and four spaces. Every line or space on the staff represents a white key on the keyboard.