How old do you have to be to get braces?

You're Never too old for braces! However as an adult more time may be needed to adjust your teeth and a retainer may be necessary to ensure your teeth don't go back to the way they were before braces.

---

The age at which a person can get braces can vary depending on the individual and the orthodontist's discretion. However, generally, most orthodontists prefer to wait until a child has lost most of their baby teeth and has a mix of adult and baby teeth, usually around the age of 7 or 8.